Online Resources & Databases

Your library card gives you access to various online catalogs and databases:

The Monarch Catalog allows you to search the items that are held in Germantown Community Library, as well as all 33 libraries in Dodge, Ozaukee, Sheboygan and Washington counties.

Monarch Catalog Guide


Ancestry provides more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; and passenger lists. In Library Use Only.


BadgerLink is Wisconsin’s Online Library, providing Wisconsin residents with licensed content not available through regular search engines. This resource includes magazines, newspapers, scholarly articles, videos, images, and music. Here are a few of the most used:


Gale Courses  provides access to over 360 online courses on multiple topics of interest, including career training programs. If you seek deeper knowledge of areas from A (Accounting) to W (Writing), Gale Courses has something for you.

Gale Courses Guide


Price It! Antiques & Collectibles delivers 23 million realized prices. gathering information from multiple sources – online auctions (GoAntiques.com, eBay), online retail (GoAntiques.com, TIAS) and 50 land-based auction houses – to determine market pricing, allowing users to obtain a realistic expected price for their items.


Pronunciator is a fun and free way to learn any of 80 languages in 50 languages at your own pace with self-directed lessons, live teachers, movies, music, and more.  Online access is available in a browser on a computer and app for your mobile devices.  You will need to create an account to use the mobile app and sign in with your user name and password.

An online prep test course designed for immigrants to succeed at the Naturalization test is also available through ProCitizen.

Pronunciator User Manual


RB Digital (formally Zinio) offers full-color digital magazines for anytime, anywhere reading on desktops, mobile devices, and apps.  Over 75 popular titles with no holds, checkout periods, or limits.

RB Digital Guide & FAQs


ReferenceUSA offers powerful business and consumer research database, offering business and residential listings useful in searching for people, executives, creating marketing plans, conducting competitive analysis, fundraising and sales.  Access is available to 44 million current businesses in the United States and Canada.


Wisconsin’s Digital Library (OverDrive) is a collection of downloadable eBooks, audiobooks and videos. This a free service that can be used with many types of devices.

Overdrive Guide

Meet Libby – a fresh and easy way to borrow and read ebooks and audiobooks from Overdrive.  Libby is a free app – all you need to access 1000s of titles is your library card!

Libby Guide & Additional Information for Kindle